top of page
  • Writer's pictureSerena H.

Menstrual Cups

by Serena H.



Not owned by Creme de la Fem. Found via link below.
Menstrual Cups. Image is not owned by Creme de la Fem.


So in the past year, I stopped using tampons or pads and switched entirely to a menstrual cup. If anyone asks me, I go into a whole spiel about how amazing they are. So here it is! I switched over because financially it makes more sense, it’s far more environmentally friendly and has been so beneficial in my health and comfortability with my period.


I did so much research before switching over and when looking at the costs, it made so much sense! I haven't bought pads or tampons in months, giving most of mine over to my roommates and keeping a few in case of someone else's emergency. Being a university student is taxing on my bank account, but switching to a menstrual cup has saved me quite a bit of money. The upfront cost seems off-putting because they run between $20-$40 but, they can last up to 10 years from what I read. Though it is preferred that you replace them every 1-3 years. Considering the insane prices on pads and tampons, plus the pink tax, this is a deal.


As for the environmentally friendly bit, it's pretty obvious. I produce less waste. Which, to me, is a big deal because every little bit counts! I love that i don’t need to take out my bathroom trash as often and my cat doesn’t try and play with the wrappings in the trash! I’m definitely happy about that.


My period has always been pretty regular in length and all that but I’ve always had issues with sporadic cramps and irregular flow. I’ve had far less issues since switching. While researching, I found that many tampon brands and even some pads use bleach. Yuck! Do you know how sensitive a vagina is? Think about it. Bleach isn’t good for even the toughest skin, let alone the most sensitive. I've also had many people ask me about the mess and how healthy it is. When looking at the mess, it is something to get used to but not impossible. The cup can be used up to 12 hours at a time so you don't have to use it in public if you don't want to. How does it last 12 hours? Well it holds about half the amount of a average period. And to my knowledge there isn't risk of TSS. It is also very comfortable after you get used to dealing with it.


Along with all this, I have found that there is less over all mess, no smell, no leaking etc. I have come to love my menstrual cup and if you ask me, I will gladly talk anyone’s head off about them. It has made me far more comfortable with having a period and talking about it. Don’t just take my word for it! Do your own research and find out for yourself.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page